Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Bushes: What's the difference between a 'DU' and 'DX' bushing?
  • no_eyed_deer
    Free Member

I’m looking to service my egg beater pedals on the cheap and have worked out the plastic bushing dimensions (10x 12x 10mm).

I even found the bushing online (for 49p!).

I’ve just got to choose between a ‘DX’ bushing and a ‘DU’ one though.. WTF?

There’s no further information on the bearing site about them:

DU bush

DX bush

See?

I’m mystified… help!

kaesae
    Free Member

DX and DP4 material are sintered bronze, the DX also has PTFE, DU is sintered lead.

http://www.alibaba.com/showroom/dx-bushing.html

The DX bush will last about twice as long as the DU one, then again I’m not an expert so what do I know!

RobHilton
    Free Member

Marvellous info!
    (Crank Bros fanboy)

no_eyed_deer
    Free Member

Cheers Kaesae.. I’ll be going for the DX’s then!

@ Rob Hinton: Great isn’t it! FYI: the external egg beater bearing dimensions are: 6 X 13 X 5MM do a google / ebay search and you’ll find many options around oh… 89p or so.

Or you can pay £16 for the official egg beater kit.

Job done.

kaesae
    Free Member

£16 for the official egg beater kit ❓

Lead isn’t as tough as Bronze and PTFE or Teflon.

Can you send me all of the details no_eyed_deer

Riders shouldn’t have to pay £16, it’s outrageous!

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

Kaesae, whilst you’re here, the Hope hub bearings I got off you: They say “Japan” on them, don’t they?

Have a look at my thread if you don’t mind:

http://www.singletrackworld.com/forum/topic/hope-should-i-be-annoyed-or-not

🙂

OP – Sorry for the Hijack! 😀

Did anyone ever buy these ?
    Any good ?
    At 45p each I’d take a chance, except that I’m using Ward Industries titanium spindles.
    Is there any risk that the bushes might damage the spindles if I wear through the plastic coating and down to the metal.