Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 48 total)
  • Carbon DH bikes
  • RealMan
    Free Member

Does it make any sense? Obviously you can build them strong enough, but once you've done that, are there still any weight advantages? And will they be as durable (long lasting) as other more common materials?

deserter
    Free Member

read a couple of years ago about a GT one being stronger than alu one by quite a margin, no weight savings from memory just extra stiffness, don't know if I'd bother being a common man and all but a racer maybe

DrDomRob
    Free Member

I am currently studying composite fatigue – Carbon fibre has AMAZING fatigue resistance, far better than any metal (Although when it goes there is no warning)

This coupled with the fact that most engineers don't fully trust composite materials and hugely over design what they are doing (Note: GROSS GENERALISATION) I would suggest that any composite structure properly designed will outlast its metallic equivalent.

That said out of plane loading (blunt face impacts) can POSSIBLY cause serious problems leaving fractures that can only be detected by serious bits of kit.

Sorry if I bored anyone!

nickc

It's actually pretty impressive the lengths the top teams will go through to loose weight; Ti bolts, roadie saddles are just the start of it, and when Steve Peat won the world Champs last year by fractions of a second, you can understand why. Given that carbon makes a lot of sense, durability isn't really an issue, if it fails as you cross the line, perfect…

DrDomRob
    Free Member

Haha… Maybe if you've got a team of people and monies behind you, but if you're after the top of the range to last forever then it's as good a route to go down as any metallic structure (Assuming the layup has been designed right)

tron
    Free Member

One of the comics has a feature on Steve Peat's bike. 3 Ti brake disc bolts per wheel, no dust seals or grease on any of the bearings, just oil.

toys19
    Free Member