Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Ditching remote lock off. Anybody else?
  • barca
    Free Member

It's done my head in once too often and in a complete toys out of the pram fashion, I've taken my remote lock off lever off of my Reba fork. I couldn't do with it pleasing itself if it was going to unlock or not.
    I hate bobbing along on the road so I think I'm going to miss it but then again, it may help smooth my pedalling out a bit. I seem to mash on my mountain bikes.
    Has anybody else got rid of the lock off from the fork and lived NOT to regret it?

mtbrDot
    Free Member

I've been using forks with lockout since 2004 but yet didn't manage to teach myself to turn it off and keep forgetting about it when I'm done with a climb hence in a race I never touch it and keep the fork unlocked.

When I'm on the road the fork is alsways locked out.

judderman
    Free Member

Just took mine ff last night as got fed up with it stiking, will get a manual conversion when I can afford one, two of my mates have also done the same thing a few weeks ago.

stumpy01

I like my lockout & use it a fair bit.

If I broke the lever I am not sure I would pay £60 for a new one, so I could probably live without it but while it works, it's staying on.

Munqe-chick
    Free Member

(mr MC posting)

Ive ridden 5" full sus bike with no lock out for 5 yearss. MC has just got a hardtail with lockout on a 100mm fork (reba). Its already sticking after 3 rides (and only a couple of trial uses) so I think it might be coming off soon. Prior to that MC rode a 6" full susser without any lockout. Ive never really grasped the point of lockout, Ive never been bothered overly by a bike bobbing (and I do a lot of out-of-saddle climbing due to a duff lower back, and have been riding full sus for 10 years), certainly not by the front end bobbing, and every time you forget to unlock it youve ridden a heavy, flexy rigid bike…

njee20
    Free Member