Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • I need XC Racing info, can anyone help me.
  • dmoffitt90
    Free Member

Ive bit the bullet and entered my first XC race in the SXC series at Aberfoyle, i fancied a challange so jumped in at the deep end and entered Sport( can i do this as im to old to enter junior but have never raced xc before ? )

Im looking to know what kind of kit i should be taking with me, like do i NEED a set of wet tyres ? what spares should i be taking ? what should i do for drinking, bottles or camelback ? what spares/tools should i carry on me during the race and how ? What riding kit, lycra head to toe, any advice on what ? Any suggestions to a descent helmet thats not going to brake the bank (im a student) ?

dmoffitt90
    Free Member

Forgot to mention im 19 and was as of January 1990

cynic-al
    Free Member

You don’t need to buy any new kit to race, just ride with what you are used to unless you need to look the part or have lots of money burning a hole in your pocket.

MrSparkle

Forgot to mention im 19 and was as of January 1990

Does that not make you 38? What are you studying – Maths or English?

dmoffitt90
    Free Member

Good point haha i was born in January 1990 im an idiot :roll:, Engineering actualy so quite alot of Maths 😯

40mpg

Just turn up, ride fast and enjoy. Sport is pretty quick so you may find yourself at the back quite quickly, perhaps better to start off with beginners or open class. Whatever, you’ll know for the next time (and it is quite addictive, especially when you race a series and try to beat the same people in your category each time.

trail_rat
    Free Member

just pop down yer local shop and buy a good fitting helmet for about 30 quid … it will do you fine

If you have lycra use it , failing that be comfortable

for race , Bottles

as for the race take a small multi tool with chain splitter and a tube tyre levers and pump/co2 cart