Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • No Travel and compression damping in my Revs?
  • liquid1000
    Free Member

I believe my dual air revelations which have suddenly developed reduced travel and no lockout/comprsession have a problem with an oil seal? Has anyone else resolved this problem at home? If so where did you get the kit and how tricky is it, I am a fairly competent bike mechanic.

piedidiformaggio
    Free Member

When mine did that it was because the damping cartridge had self destructed after a fast run over roots & drop offs

stumpy01

It’ll be the damping oil leaking into the lower leg. It doesn’t take that much to lose lockout and then shortly after you’ll notice the travel reducing.

The last two times I’ve had this issue I’ve just disassembled them & reassembled them. Be careful if you don’t buy a service kit that you don’t distort the circlips too much or you’ll have to replace them. TFT tuned do a service kit and you can use motorbike fork oil which works out better value for money.

Make sure you download the tech manual from the SRAM website & read through it several times so you are clear what you need to do.

It’s pretty straight forward.

gonetothehills
    Free Member

Look – I’m no technician, but I had something similar (but it could have been different) and had a chat with the guys at my LBS. What they suggested seems to have worked – and they said if it didn’t then maybe it was a leak, but it was worth trying this first.

Might be best to check with someone else who knows, but I *think* what I did was:

1: take the air out of the +ive and -ive chambers
    2: put the right amount of air into the +ive
    3: when putting air into the -ive, stop just as it’s starting to sag down.

I did this on my work stand with the lockout unlocked. As I took air out of the chambers, the fork seemed to get its travel back, and sat at the correct height (100mm, when it was wound in, 130mm when wound out)