Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 50 total)
  • Photography Q – Lens upgrade, worth it?
  • PeterPoddy
    Free Member

I've been using a Canon 400D for a couple of years, mainly with a Sigma 17-70 f2.8 lens. I've also got a Canon 50mm prime, which takes far better (Sharper, crisper) images, but is nowhere near as versitile.
    I know it's easier to get prime lens optics to produce sharper pics, but would it be worth me changing the lens to a Canon EFS 18-200mm IS? (Or possibly a 17-85 IS, but I could do with the extra zoom of the 200mm really) Would that be noticeably sharper the Sigma?
    The Canon is right at the top of my budget really, so don't go suggesting £1000+ lenses… 🙂

nbt

Sharper? not necessarily,m if anything I'd say the sigma would be noticeably sharper than the canon. The canon has a huge zoom range, to get that range at that price something has to suffer

Smee
    Free Member

No.

GrahamS

I don't know the lenses, but like nbt I'd be very surprised if a 18-200mm was sharper than a 17-70mm, even if it is Canon vs Sigma.

Also I would assume that the 18-200mm would be unlikely to be a f2.8 so you'd be losing speed too.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

OK, fair enough. So if I wanted the extra zoom, I might as well get another Sigma, rather than spending more on a Canon then?

tlr

The 18-200 is a pretty compromised lens.

Sharp 'cheaper' lenses ar considered to be the 18-55IS, the 70-200 F4, the 50mm F1.8 that it sounds like you have.

Unfortunately sharp lenses aren't cheap.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

Also I would assume that the 18-200mm would be unlikely to be a f2.8 so you'd be losing speed too.

No, it's not. That's one reason I bought the Sigma in the first place: It's faster then the equivilent Canon.

PeterPoddy
    Free Member

Sharp 'cheaper' lenses ar considered to be the 18-55IS, the 70-200 F4,