Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Tell me about Turbo Trainers please.
  • fbk
    Free Member

Ok, so I need to improve my fitness for the summer but injuries mean I'm trying not to use my right hand too much.

A turbo trainer seem a sensible bet but I'm a bit new to the concept so, what makes a good one? what features should I be looking for? Anything I should avoid? What are the pros and cons of magnetic vs fluid? Any tips on using one? Anyone got a good one they're looking to sell? 😉

I've got a MTB HT or a road bike I can put on it so pretty flexible.

Thank you 🙂

Starrman28
    Free Member

1.A bit boring 2. Sweaty 3. Really good way to keep/get fit if you can put up with 1 & 2. 🙂

Joxster
    Free Member

I've got one in the garage for sale, will work on a MTB and a road bike.

I hate them, spent many a long dark night doing 4hrs of intervals till I was sick or passed out.

Kitz_Chris
    Free Member

I would suggest that Rollers are infinately more enjoyable than a Turbo, but it depends on how much you can use your injured hand. On a road bike with 53-11 gearing theres plenty of resistance to get a good work out, and the balancing keeps you occupied

Phatman
    Free Member

Noise?

Any particular turbos that could be used in a flat without making enemies?

trail_rat
    Free Member

not a elite ullrich pro anyway ….. mine upstages the washing machine…..

upstairs flat who is a deaf 90 year old (be her own admission) even complained and she hears NOTHING ….

and rollers any quieter ?

fbk
    Free Member

Hmm. Ok, so I get the bit about them being boring and noisy – I'm not sure how long I'll keep using it but it seems a necessary evil it the moment.

I've got a pretty full iPod that need some listening too anyway! 🙂

Rollers do look more "fun" but I need to keep pressure of my hand so not really practical.

Joxster – what ya got? P&P from Scotland may be prohibitive though.

Onzadog
    Free Member