Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Turn left at the third rock two miles after the second daffodil (wot GPS?)
  • saxabar
    Free Member

Apologies in advance for what I'm sure is a numbskull question, but as a non-driver I have little experience with GPS systems. However, on getting a lift this weekend :wink:, I finally discovered how useful these things are. Assuming the satellites are not going to become space crap, then which ones are the best for MTBers? A search across the forum suggests the eTrex: is this right? I do most of my riding in Wales and would very much like a device that means I do not have to rely on The Force all of the time.

brant
    Free Member

Review/info in current STW issue

robinbetts
    Free Member

I use the eTrex and it's great. Nice and simple, reliable and not expensive. If you get yourself Memory Map and a usb cable, you can plot your routes and upload them straight to it. Then when you're out, just follow the waypoints. A life saver, especially when on top of a mountain when the fog's come in and the path's disappeared!
    Don't rely on it completely though. You never know when technology, no matter how good it is, decides to stick it's middle finger at you 😉

saxabar
    Free Member

This sounds good. To continue line of thicko questioning: can I pull said gadget out of the bag if, err, I'm a little disoriented and not sure on the map where I am and it will tell me where I am and which direction to go?

robinbetts
    Free Member

Yeah. You can plot a route and follow it on the gps, so it will give you an arrow pointing in the direction you need to go to the next waypoint, and tell you how far it is etc. There is also a display that shows you the route line, and shows you with an arrow, where you are along it (of off it) and draws a bread crumb trail of where you've been.

And, yes, if you've got an OS map with you as well, it will tell you your grid ref, so you can see exactly where you are.